The spontaneous beauty buys, times when rationality deserted me

Spontaneous Beauty Buys

I’m a planner when it comes to my life. It is normal for me to identify what I wish to purchase weeks or months before actually getting hold of them. That being said, there are (loads of ) moments of spontaneity when I chuck research aside and bring out the wallet. Some have worked out great, others not so.

Shiseido Liquid Eyeliner in Black (7ml) was a dirt cheap purchase in Taiwan. I was just sold by how affordable these are, and snapped it up without trying. It was a beauty regret, though. The lasting power is pretty good, but the brush applicator is too soft and thus not easy to use. I do like a bit more resistance in applicators.

Etude House Go Back Activating Massager was another really cheap purchase during Christmas sale last year. I am in general quite immune to Etude House product, packaging and advertising, as I’m not quite a pink and girly person. The ceramic massager is however too cute to resist. It is supposed to be used together with their skincare products to improve blood circulation in facial area and thus improve absorption of the products. I can’t say it did any difference, but it is an joy to use this massager.

I am still undecided on Frownies Facial Patches. These are basically pieces of sticky paper that flattens out the wrinkles,Β limits your facial expressions and prevent formation of future wrinkles. I bought these when I had mistaken my dehydration lines for wrinkles. After I switched a moisturizer, the lines were gone and the Frownie wasn’t necessary. It does indeed help to manage facial expression. Even after taking it off, the sensation of raising eyebrows or frowning is very pronounced and you become very aware of my expressions.

MUJI Face Lotion Sheets are just compact sheet masks you can soak your toner into and wear as a regular paper mask. I’m in general not a fan of compressed sheet masks because they tend to tear easily. This one is thin, made of sturdier material. However, there is a funny smell that you have to bear with when they soak up a toner. I have tried it with pure water, and still the smell is there.

Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle is one of the biggest beauty regrets that I have. I bought this together with a Sally Hansen polish as a set, which was on ridiculous sale. The nail polish was great, this is just lousy. I must be stupid to believe for a moment that external application can help with keratin deposit in the nails.

If you have spontaneous beauty buys that are hits or misses, let me know! I’d love to know what to try and avoid!

Leave a Reply

