The Essential Vitamin

La Roche-Posay Redermic C & Redermic C Eye

I do have a fondness for French pharmacie brands, possibly because I’ve been watching too much Lisa Eldridge, maybe also the fact that they have a reputation to be highly effective. La Roche-Posay is one French brand that I am more familiar with.

The products claim to visibly plumps the skin and visibly reduce wrinkles. Both contain “fragmented hyaluronic acid”, traditionally found in injectable fillers. It is supposed to hold up to 1000x its weight in water, creating a plumping effect. It also contains “5% pure vitamin C” an antioxidant.

I don’t feel any distinction between the two products, despite one being an overall facial moisturizer and the other being an eye cream. You can easily switch them up, and so the Redermic C works out to be a better deal overall for dollar-per-ml.

I left both products in the fridge after I realized how easily the tube contents were oxidized. The very first day after opening the product, I observed orangish residue gathering around the tube lid. Better be safe than sorry, into the fridge it goes. I enjoy using these two products, but mostly as a weekly treatment like retinol than a daily moisturizer. On days when my skin looks particularly dull from the lack of rest, I’ll slather both of these on. 

Unlike some of the other moisturizers, that I have used, it is excellent at hydration and I don’t need to apply an additional layer of sleep mask.

The texture in particular is a lot more enjoyable than other vitamin C products that I’ve tried before, particularly Kiehl’s Powerful-Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate. the La Roche-Posay has a lot less silicones and film-formers. But I doubt I’d purchase these again, the price tag is pretty hefty.

One thought on “The Essential Vitamin

  1. Pingback: Review: Alpha Hydrox Retinol ResQ | a banquet of roses

Leave a Reply

