AHA loves from Andalou Naturals

Andalou Naturals Masks

While my previous experience with  AHAs, the Alpha Hydrox (read review) was a disaster, I had luck with Andalou Naturals, both exfoliating masks give beautiful results!

Andalou Naturals Pumpkin Honey Glycolic Mask

Andalou Naturals Pumpkin Honey Glycolic Mask

“Organic pumpkin, rich in beta carotene, blended with Manuka honey and citrus glycolic AHA, gently dissolve and lift away dull surface cells, exfoliating and resurfacing for even tone and smooth texture, as Fruit Stem Cell Complex helps revitalize for a brighter, more luminous complexion.”  (from official website here)

I have already finished my first tub of Pumpkin Honey Glycolic Mask and I’m working my way through my second one. The color is similar to pumpkin purée; the smell is like pumpkin soup with loads  of spices. It stings every time I spread it on, but the tingling sensation will dissipate after five minutes. There is a numbing sensation that lasts for around half an hour after washing it off.

I have tried using the mask three times a week as instructed, but it is too much and my skin felt sensitive. It does however brighten and improve the skin texture. The effect is prominent when used once every two weeks. Right now I am slathering this quite enthusiastically, after the Guerlain Perfect White treatment (read review) has given me some discoloration.

I do wish the brand can provide more information, such as the percentage of glycolic acid and the pH of the product though. AHAs at different concentrations and pH have different cosmetic effects. It would be nice to know.

Repurchase? Yes. AHAs is the one area I’m most careful with, after the disaster that is Alpha Hydrox. It will taking me a lot of courage to try another product.

Andalou Naturals BioActive 8 Berry Fruit Enzyme Mask

Andalou Naturals BioActive 8 Berry Fruit Enzyme Mask

“Fruit Stem Cells, BioActive 8 Berry Complex, and Resveratrol Q10 create a potent portfolio of antioxidants to slow cellular damage and stimulate skin firming collagen and elastin, as fruit juice enzymes gently dissolve dull, dry surface cells to reveal skin’s vitality and ageless beauty.” (from official website here)

While the BioActive 8 Berry Fruit Enzyme Mask contains antioxidants like Resveratrol Q10 and Apple extracts, I’d still consider this an AHA exfoliant because of the the Papaya enzymes. It totally behaves like one, too. The mask comes in a pinkish gel, stickier than the Pumpkin mask. There is also a tingling sensation upon application but much more bearable than AHAs. There is an immediate brightening effect on the face.

There is not much to say about this one, it works just like the Pumpkin Honey Glycolic Mask on me, the same nitpicks (lack of information about pH and concentration). I’d be happy to repurchase this one. I’m don’t have a preference towards either one, actually.

Leave a Reply

