Review: Lancôme Génifique Youth Activator

I did a skincare swap with my lovely Mom late last year. Lancôme Génifique wasn’t working out for her, Guerlain Abeille Royal Serum is terrible on me. Turns out it was a bad situation for both of us. She didn’t see any results with Abeille Royal Serum, and Génifique… sigh, what should I say.

Many claim that Génifique is identical to the L’oreal Youth Code, and suggested purchasing the latter at a fraction of the price. I have used Youth Code in 2011, and I found it alright, but not remarkable. While there wasn’t a rewinding of the clock, it did not do major damage either. With Génifique, there is indeed similarities in consistency, color and texture. The effect though is fairly different.

I popped a few whiteheads the first day after using it. I pushed on, and on the second day I was greeted by small pimples. By the fourth day, my skin is dull and angry looking even with the use of a good moisturizer like my Hanyul Rich Effect Revitalizing Cream. It was like the Alpha Hydrox again. I gave it a rest for a few days, and went back to Hanyul Optimizing Serum, which did helped to clear those pimples.

The second time I returned to Génifique, a month after my first try, everything was good. I didn’t have any breakouts, and it was just like Youth Code again–not remarkable, just mediocre.

If my feeling towards this product can be summed by one word, it’d be “indifference”.

Leave a Reply

