Quick Reviews II

Clay Masks

I have normal skin, with decent oil-water balance. However, I do get the occasional oily T-zone because the of the warm and humid climate here. Since last year I have been using a clay mask once a week to absorb the oil, then follow up with a hydrating sheet mask to restore moisture.

Freeman Avocado & Oatmeal Facial Clay Mask

Freeman Avocado & Oatmeal Facial Clay Mask

This is one of those products that is highly rated on MUA, but somehow I just don’t like. I have no qualms about the application or removal, it’s all fine. It’s just that my eyes sting and tears up upon application, and during drying, my face gets really itchy and I can’t wait to wash it off.

The end result is good. I did not observe any effects on pores, but it does remove some of the oiliness from my skin. After following up with a hydrating sheet mask my face appears to be much brighter and healthier looking.

Repurchase? Nah, I don’t really want to put up with the tearing or itchiness.

Petal Fresh Aloe and Pomegranate Clay Facial Masque

Petal Fresh Aloe and Pomegranate Clay Facial Masque

This mask has a creamy texture and a strong pomegranate scent. When it dries, it does not crack like the Freeman, and is easy to wash off. The end result is similar to the Freeman. Without irritating my eyes and skin, I must say this is a lot more pleasant to use. Not a standout product, but then what miracles can you expect a simple clay mask to do anyway.

Repurchase? Maybe!

InnisFree Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask

InnisFree Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask

Highly raved by bloggers in Asia, it seems to have reached a miracle product status. I find that while it helps with whiteheads caused by excessive oil production and lack of exfoliation, it doesn’t help with inflammatory acne as some claimed. I tried applying this earlier this year when I was battling an outbreak of  pustules and papules (courtesy of the Alpha Hydrox 10% Glycolic AHA Enhanced Cream), but it didn’t do much.

Like the other clay masks, it is great at oil control, provided I follow up with a hydrating sheet mask afterwards. It does not sting or irritate, and has a faint earthy scent. However, squeezing it out of the tube is a chore, why must they make the texture so tough? I should have bought the tub version.

Repurchase? Nah. Maybe in the tub, not the tube.

I’m also interested in making some DIY clay mask at home, I’ve seen recipes and they seem simple enough. It just seems more of a hassle since you need to mix a new batch every time you use it, there’s no way of storing… Maybe when I have more time!

One thought on “Quick Reviews II

  1. Pingback: Skin Saviors | a banquet of roses

Leave a Reply

