Lancôme UV Expert GN-Shield BB Base & Make Up Base

Lancôme UV Expert GN-Shield BB Base & Make Up Base

As the world is moving on to other alphabet creams, I’m still here clinging on to the BBs. The Lancôme UV Expert GN-Shield BB Base SPF50 PA+++ (30ml) is the only BB cream I’ve ever owned, so I cannot say how it performs in comparison to other BB creams, especially the Korean ones that started all the rage. I purchased it to ease myself into using foundations.

Lancôme UV Expert GN-Shield BB Base

BB creams are supposed to provide coverage with added skin care benefits like SPF and anti-oxidants–I don’t really buy that, using BB cream on its own certainly does not provide the same level of skin care benefits like serums. Also, I don’t really like to apply too thick a layer of this in case it gets caked up, so how much skincare benefit can I expect from this–The SPF 50 and PA +++ may not be enough on its own, since I do not apply a thick layer that is necessary for sun protection.

This BB cream has sheer coverage. I have no qualms about the greyish color since I’m relatively fair and the color does settle nicely on my skin. I wear this in the mornings on top of my serum, and finish with a dust of powder.

I’ve also experimented with mixing it with my serum (alright), mixing it with a gel-moisturizer (alright), mixing it with a sunscreen (very good) and mixing this with oil (eww). There are lots of ways of playing around with a BB cream so it depends on what results you are looking for. My favorite would me mixing the BB cream with a sunscreen–I am not afraid to slather the mixture on because the coverage is even thinner, there’s little fear of the color sinking into the lines, and added sun protection!

UPDATE Jan 14, 2014: I’m currently using the Hanyul Rich Effect BB Cream, and the comparison has led me to rediscover some flaws in the Lancôme BB Cream. The Lancôme lasts maybe three hours before it turns ashy, as a little bit of sweating will wash off the color. Blot your face using tissue paper and you’ll find your face almost wiped clean after a while. I had previously believed all BB creams are like that, until I encountered the Hanyul, which is entirely sweat-proof.

– 

Lancôme UV Expert GN-Shield Make Up Base

Lancôme UV Expert GN-Shield Make Up Base SPF50 PA+++ (50ml) is a later addition picked up at the airport duty free. This is a travel exclusive that come in a larger size than the regular 30ml.

The color is a much prettier shade of beige compared to the greyish BB Base, but has almost zero coverage. This is a make up base, but since I don’t really wear make up much, I use it the same way as I would use the BB cream, except I only use it on days I care enough to wear my corrector and concealer for my under-eyes. Like the BB Base, it holds up pretty well, lasts long in the heat and does a decent job of sun protection.

I like these two babies. You can see how worn out the packaging is, as a result of knocking around in my purse with my keys and other junk. But yes, I’m ready to move on to try others!

One thought on “Lancôme UV Expert GN-Shield BB Base & Make Up Base

  1. Pingback: The Rival Balms | a banquet of roses

Leave a Reply

