Lousy moods and spending habits

I tend to plan my life, not down to the OCD level of counting steps while walking or creating sock indexes, I just like it when things are structured.

My personality manifests in my beauty habit as well. I spend time thinking about my beauty needs, researching an item, estimating how long I’ll need to finish my current one, and setting a date when I’ll make a purchase. Thinking and researching to actually making a purchase can take up to a year. It may sound like no fun, but delaying gratification is actually quite exciting, partially due to the anticipation leading up to the purchase.

Now you can see why I hardly ever binge purchase, except when I travel and have to make spontaneous decisions.

Recently, though, I’ve found myself having a greater desire to snap up a product right then and there, and such times are always when I’m in a terrible mood. Last week I had a row that left my mood sour for most of the week. Since then I’ve been having the urge to tear up my teddy bear, snap at everyone who comes my way and buy my entire wish-list on shopping sites. I won’t need any of the products until next February. But damn, it’d be so easy to click checkout, pay, and a bundle of happiness will be on its way. Such a thought is an immediate mood-booster even though I haven’t put it into action yet.

Now that sounds like I want to indulge in retail therapy—to use purchases to uplift my mood. It sounds harmless enough, retail therapy has been scientifically proven to actually make people happier. Articles like this gives righteous justification for shopping. “Well, shopping boosts my creativity, it relaxes me and I can make friends shopping. Isn’t that great?

However, buying to uplift one’s mood is actually the a leading cause in people spending beyond their means. Shopaholics think the purchases will improve their moods, and hope “their purchases will lift their mood and transform them as a person.” Combine such a belief with the ostrich mentality of ignoring credit management until the problem rolls around leads to compulsive shopping.

I haven’t let emotions cloud rational thought yet, even though I almost-violently scroll and scroll down the list of products (thank god I’m too busy to actually go out). Somewhere in the back of my mind I still dislike losing control, and know that I will regret this decision. At the rate my emotional roller coaster is going though, one day they may just get the better of me. 

Leave a Reply

