Quick Reviews I

October 2013 Empties

These are the empties for the past few months. I can’t bring myself to do detailed reviews because I’m already moving on to other products. Just thought I’d write a few lines for each of them.

DHC Kakonjuka Cream (40ml)

I’ve used this as a night cream for two months and woke up everyday to well-rested skin, though to be fair I do not have major skin concerns to begin with. The texture of the cream is great, not too thick and reasonably easy to absorb. It is definitely too heavy to use in the daytime in tropical heat. There is a faint smell of mushrooms but nothing too unpleasant.

Repurchase: No.

Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair (100ml)

This is the pre-reformulation jumbo-size bottle. I am way too young to use this (still in my 20s), but someone’s gotta finish what Mom started before it expires. I’ll not talk about its effects, because it is magic in a bottle and I’m sure everyone already knows it. The 100ml lasted for over more than 13 months, which isn’t really hygienic. Even with the dropper I’m sure some dust is getting in there. It’s best to get the regular 30ml which should last 3 to 4 months.

Repurchase: No. Maybe when I hit my 40s.

Thayers Rose Petal Alcohol Free Witch Hazel (355ml)

This toner has a lovely scent and leaves skin slightly damp and ready for serums. I’ve used up three bottles, but now I am not sure if a toner is necessary. My skin felt okay after skipping the toner and hitting the essence or serum straight after cleansing.

Repurchase: No. I may not use toners at all.

Clarins HydraQuench Cream-Gel (50ml)

I loved it at first–it is suitable for tropical climate, it is relatively light, easy to absorb and smells divine. But halfway through the tub I realised that while it does hydrate, it does little of anything else. I did not notice the well-rested effect as with DHC Kakonjuka Cream or any improvement to the skin over the long haul. It can be easily substituted by other hydration-only moisturisers like Laneige Water Bank Gel Cream and La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Intense Light.

Repurchase: No. I’ve learnt to demand more from my moisturisers.

9 thoughts on “Quick Reviews I

  1. Pingback: Review: Hanyul Optimizing Serum | flamingbaby

  2. Pingback: Review: Sooryehan Red Ginseng Juice Cream | flamingbaby

  3. Pingback: Review: Hanyul Rich Effect Revitalizing Cream | flamingbaby

  4. Pingback: Skin Saviors | a banquet of roses

  5. Pingback: Ginseng Mania | a banquet of roses

  6. Pingback: Hanyul Optimizing Serum | a banquet of roses

  7. Pingback: The almost HG: Hanyul Rich Effect Revitalizing Cream | a banquet of roses

  8. Pingback: Ginseng Mania: Sooryehan Red Ginseng Juice Cream | a banquet of roses

  9. Pingback: Hanyul Baek Hwa Goh Intensive Care Cream | a banquet of roses

Leave a Reply

